

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health Robert A. Taft Laboratories 4676 Columbia Parkway Cincinnati, OH 45226-1998

Phone: 513-533-6825 Fax: 513-533-6826

November 17, 2011

Ms. Rachel Leiton, Director
Division of Energy Employees Occupational
Illness Compensation
U.S. Department of Labor
200 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Room C-3321
Washington, District of Columbia 20210

Dear Ms. Leiton:

On behalf of the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), and as required by 42 C.F.R. § 83.17(d), I am notifying you of the final effect of the HHS decision to designate a class of employees from Y -12 facility in Oak Ridge, TN, as an addition to the Special Exposure Cohort (SEC) under the Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program Act of 2000. On October 18, 2011, as provided for under 42 U.S.C. § 7384q(b), the Secretary of HHS designated the following class of employees as an addition to the SEC:

All employees of the Department of Energy, its predecessor agencies, and their contractors and subcontractors who worked at the Y -12 facility in Oak Ridge, Tennessee, during the period from January 1, 1948 through December 31, 1957, for a number of work days aggregating at least 250 work days, occurring either solely under this employment or in combination with work days within the parameters established for one or more other classes of employees in the Special Exposure Cohort.

This designation became effective on November 17, 2011, as provided for under 42 U.S.C. § 7384*l*(14)(C). Hence, beginning on November 17, 2011, members of this class of employees, defined as reported in this notice, became members of the SEC.

Sincerely,

[Signature on File]

Stuart L. Hinnefeld, Director Division of Compensation Analysis and Support National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health