National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health Robert A. Taft Laboratories 4676 Columbia Parkway Cincinnati, OH 45226-1998

Phone: 513-533-6825 Fax: 513-533-6826

February 24, 2009

SEC Tracking Number: SEC00133

Ms. Rachel Leiton
Division of Energy Employees Occupational
Illness Compensation
U.S. Department of Labor
Room C-4511
200 Constitution Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20210

Dear Ms. Leiton:

On behalf of the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), and as required by 42 C.F.R. § 83.17(c), I am notifying you of the final effect of the HHS decision to designate a class of employees at the Mallinckrodt Chemical Co., Destrehan Street Plant in St. Louis, Missouri, as an addition to the Special Exposure Cohort (SEC) under the Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program Act of 2000. On January 16, 2009, as provided for under 42 U.S.C. § 7384q(b), the Secretary of HHS designated the following class of employees as an addition to the SEC:

All employees of DOE, its predecessor agencies, and their contractors and subcontractors who worked in the Uranium Division at the Mallinckrodt Chemical Co., Destrehan Street Plant in St. Louis, Missouri, from January 1, 1958 to December 31, 1958, for a number of work days aggregating at least 250 work days, occurring either solely under this employment or in combination with work days within the parameters established for one or more other classes of employees included in the SEC.

This designation became effective on February 15, 2009, as provided for under 42 U.S.C. § 7384/(14)(C). Hence, beginning on February 15, 2009, members of this class of employees, defined as reported in this notice, became members of the SEC.

Sincerely,

Larry J. Elliott Director Office of Compensation Analysis and Support National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health