

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health Robert A. Taft Laboratories 4676 Columbia Parkway Cincinnati, OH 45226-1998

Phone: 513-533-6825 Fax: 513-533-6826

May 17, 2005

Peter M. Turcic, Director Division of Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation U.S. Department of Labor Room C-4511 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20210

Dear Mr. Turcic:

On behalf of the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), and as required by 42 C.F.R. pt. 83.17(c), I am notifying you of the final effect of the HHS decision to designate a class of employees at the Mallinckrodt Chemical Company, Destrehan Street Plant, in Saint Louis, Missouri as an addition to the Special Exposure Cohort (SEC) under the Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program Act of 2000. On April 11, 2005, as provided for under 42 U.S.C. 7384q(b), the Secretary of HHS designated the following class of employees as an addition to the SEC:

Employees of the Department of Energy (DOE) or DOE contractors or subcontractors employed by the Uranium Division of Mallinckrodt Chemical Works, Destrehan Street Facility, during the period from 1942 through 1948 and who were employed for a number of work days aggregating at least 250 work days either solely under this employment or in combination with work days within the parameters (excluding aggregate work day requirements) established for other classes of employees included in the SEC.

This designation became effective on May 12, 2005, as provided for under 42 U.S.C. 7384*l*(14)(C). Hence, beginning on May 12, 2005, members of this class of employees, defined as reported in this notice, became members of the SEC.

Sincerely.

Larry J. Elliott, MSPH, CIH

Director

Office of Compensation Analysis and Support