Public Health Service

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health Robert A. Taft Laboratories 4676 Columbia Parkway Cincinnati, OH 45226-1998

Phone: 877-222-7570 Fax: 513-533-6826

November 8, 2010

Ms. Rachel Leiton, Director Division of Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation U.S. Department of Labor 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Room C-3321 Washington, D.C. 20210

Dear Ms. Leiton:

On behalf of the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), and as required by 42 C.F.R. § 83.17(d), I am notifying you of the final effect of the HHS decision to designate a class of employees from the Ames Laboratory, Ames, Iowa, as an addition to the Special Exposure Cohort (SEC) under the Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program Act of 2000. On October 6, 2010, as provided for under 42 U.S.C. § 7384q(b), the Secretary of HHS designated the following class of employees as an addition to the SEC:

All employees of the Department of Energy, its predecessor agencies, and its contractors and subcontractors who worked in any area of the Department of Energy facility at the Ames Laboratory from January 1, 1955 through December 31, 1960, for a number of work days aggregating at least 250 work days, occurring either solely under this employment, or in combination with work days within the parameters established for one or more other classes of employees in the Special Exposure Cohort.

This designation became effective on November 5, 2010, as provided for under 42 U.S.C. § 7384l(14)(C). Hence, beginning on November 5, 2010, members of this class of employees, defined as reported in this notice, became members of the SEC.

Sincerely,

Stuart L. Hinnefeld, Interim Director Division of Compensation Analysis and Support National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health