

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health Robert A. Taft Laboratories 4676 Columbia Parkway Cincinnati, OH 45226-1998 Phone: 513-533-6825

November 17, 2011

Fax: 513-533-6826

Ms. Rachel Leiton, Director
Division of Energy Employees Occupational
Illness Compensation
U.S. Department of Labor
200 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Room C-3321
Washington, District of Columbia 20210

Dear Ms. Leiton:

On behalf of the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), and as required by 42 C.F.R. § 83.17(d), I am notifying you of the final effect of the HHS decision to designate a class of employees from the Ames Laboratory at Iowa State University as an addition to the Special Exposure Cohort (SEC) under the Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program Act of 2000. On October 18, 2011, as provided for under 42 U.S.C. § 7384q(b), the Secretary of HHS designated the following class of employees as an addition to the SEC:

All Department of Energy (DOE) employees, its predecessor agencies, and its contractors and subcontractors who worked in any area of the Ames Laboratory at Iowa State University during the periods from August 13, 1942 through December 31, 1970, for a number of work days aggregating at least 250 work days, occurring either solely under this employment or in combination with work days within the parameters established for one or more classes of employees included in the Special Exposure Cohort.

This designation became effective on November 17, 2011, as provided for under 42 U.S.C. § 7384*l*(14)(C). Hence, beginning on November 17, 2011, members of this class of employees, defined as reported in this notice, became members of the SEC.

Sincerely,

[Signature on File]

Stuart L. Hinnefeld, Director Division of Compensation Analysis and Support National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health